Banner, Pharmaceutical Foundation, Educational Programs

donate Now

Make a Contribution with direct link included here in Involvement column.

Supporting Pharmaceutical Education for More Than 72 Years

About AFPE



Where Are They Now?

Meet Michael DeCoske, PharmD
Associate Chief Pharmacy Officer
Duke University Hospital 

With a strong aptitude for science and math, Michael became interested in pharmacy as a potential profession during career day in high school. Later, while attending Duquesne University in the PharmD program, Michael received an AFPE - ASHP Gateway to Research Scholarship in 2005. The research he conducted with Aleem Gangjee, PhD, Professor of Medical Chemistry, exposed Michael to research with tyrosine kinase inhibitors, which have in the years since become an important therapy in caring for patients with cancer. From this experience, Michael knew he wanted to pursue a role in oncology.  Read more about Michael and other Fellows...

Before joining AFPE, Rachel graduated from Langley High School in McLean, Va, where she was an active member of the school and club swim teams and earned the scholar athlete award multiple seasons. Her extracurricular activities included several choir organizations, both the Math and National Honor Societies, and serving as a Math teacher’s assistant. Her senior year, she orchestrated a self-run donation drive for the Children’s National Medical Center, successfully collecting over 300 stuffed animals to give comfort to patients at Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC. 
Currently a junior at George Mason University, Rachel has volunteered for the past year in the child pediatric section at INOVA Fairfax hospital. Her recent accomplishments include achieving a 4.0 in her most recent spring semester of 2014. She continues to be a dedicated coach for the swim program, Norman Swimming. As a member of the Chi Omega Fraternity, she assists in numerous fundraisers for the Make-A-Wish Foundation. Rachel looks forward to graduating with a Bachelor’s of science degree in Health Administration, and we are excited to benefit from her ambition and enthusiasm this summer at AFPE. 



Where Are They Now?

Meet Marijke Adams, PharmD, PhD

MH Adams & Associates, Inc.

Who could have guessed that Marijke Adams’ first real job as a teenager working in a drug store would ultimately lead her to a rewarding career as a pharmaceutical scientist? During that first job, the pharmacists trained her as a pharmacy technician, and in 10th grade Marijke decided that she wanted to go to pharmacy school. After working as a hospital pharmacist for a few years and discovering that she loved teaching when she had the opportunity to help a friend teach pharmacology for an allied health professions class, she grew restless and knew it was time to pursue further education in the field. Read more about Marijke and other Fellows...



Are you an AFPE Fellow? Find your name on this new list of AFPE Fellows from 1942 to 2014. 

Make Your Contribution



Are you an expert? 

We're looking for a few good volunteers to serve as subject experts for various projects in the coming year. Please contact Sherri Hunter, Grants Manager.

AFPE is pleased to announce the 2014 Awardees:

Pharmacy Faculty Development Fellows

2014 Gateway to Research Scholars

To see the list of all 2014 awardees, click here